LIDA103 Spot poll - Learner experience with OER

Before participating in an OERu course, to what extent have you used OER to support your formal learning at an academic institution?

• Always
  • Frequently
  • Sometimes
  • Rarely
  • Never
  • Not sure / Not applicable

0 voters

If previously enrolled at a tertiary education institution, have you completed a course without buying the prescribed textbook due to the cost?

• Yes (didn’t buy the prescribed work because it was too expensive)
  • No (prescribed texts have been affordable)
  • Not applicable

0 voters

1 Like

Had purchased used books where possible. Newer books were bought through the loan scheme under which I studied but it was very expensive at the time.

The second question above doesn’t account for online tertiary degree programs. Much of the coursework is done in front of a computer and not in a classroom; this includes the reading and viewing of digital, not paper-based textbooks (and other materials). Most online learners would probably object to having to pay a fee for each digital textbook, so online universities often obtain the money they need for digital distribution and upkeep in other ways, such as by charging a special fee.

OERs didn’t exist when I was a studnet - as a professor I have used OERs for the past 15 years and teach masters/doctoral courses now designed completed with OERs - I will say occasionally there is a reaonably priced text I would encourate students to purchase, but I don’t require students do this.

1 Like

As i’m working in the Open University, they uses OER and they have textbooks in online to download which is free. When i was a student of tertiary level then in my country technology enable learning was not developed. So, i had to buy books.