LIDA104 - Why is media literacy important to you?

lida104
Tags: #<Tag:0x00007febd472fca0>

Let us know why media literacy is important for you. Please share a practical example.

Media literacy is important to us because it help us to access,analyse,or Create different forms of information. It give us ability to Create self-expression.

As someone who spends a lot of time on the Web, having some basic media literacy skills is fundamental. I understand that the amount of information that I consume today cannot be compared to any other period in history and it feels that way. I can easily understand why people have so much trouble navigating the maze: trying to figure out where to find reliable information, learning to see ideology and interest behind news and articles, following appropriate copyright rules (and creating more open-licensed content!), and a large etc. I am just learning to be a creator myself. This is why media literacy is important to me and to everyone else. We spend too much time on this place to not understand how it works.

Good point - given the amount of time we spend online, we should invest a little effort into improving critical media literacies and associated digital skills.

I’m a teacher librarian in a secondary school. Part of my job is to teach and encourage critical media literacies. Apart from that, we are overwhelmed with information and news in our lives, and so media literacy is essential. Even if we think we are critical users of information/news, we still have so much to learn. It’s a complex and often confusing area. As educators it’s our responsibility to be informed so we can support our students.

Welcome to OERu and our critical media literacy course. As a secondary school teacher librarian - I’m particularly interested to learn if this course is suitable for secondary school learners. Please let us know!